Clippers

NBA report reveals missed goaltending call in Rockets vs. Clippers

Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports

The NBA announced they missed a call in the critical moments of the Houston Rockets at the Los Angeles Clippers on Nov. 7, according to a Los Angeles Times report.

With less than 18 seconds left to play, Blake Griffin tried to tie the game with a tip in. The score was 107-105, and Dwight Howard touched the ball. However, no goaltending call was made.

The offical ruling read: “Howard (HOU) makes contact with the ball while part of it is still in the cylinder above the basket ring. As per the Rule Book, goaltending is only reviewable when there is a call on the floor. Since there was no call, the play is not reviewable.”

Nonetheless, Griffin thought it was a clear call. 

“I actually watched it already, I couldn’t wait until I got home. I watched it several times. That’s textbook goaltending. “

Further, the call could not be reviewed because it was not called on the floor. Video replay can not turn a non call into a goaltend.

Still, the Clippers lost the game 109-105. The Clippers could have lost the game even with the goaltending call, but their revenge was spoiled by the referees.  

It was the two teams first matchup since the Houston Rockets came back from a 3-1 playoff series deficit that ended the Clippers 2014.

Regardless, the Clippers have moved on. They defeated the Memphis Grizzlies 93-90 on Nov. 9.

The following two tabs change content below.
Pete D. Camarillo only loves sports and writing. He tried combining those passions with his degree in Journalism at CSUN. He's had work published on Fansided, Endzone Score, Inquisitr, Elite Daily and several print publications. Pete also did community relations with the L.A. Clippers during the 2014-15 season. Follow him on Twitter @petecertified.
Comments

Trending

To Top